My Highlight of 2015

BusterThis is the time when people make lists of accomplishments in an effort to prove another year has not passed in vain.

I’m too lazy to do that.

And you’re too busy to read it. So I’ll save us both the trouble and say what you already know: I saw a lot of (mostly old) movies in a lot of theaters and had a lot of fun. If you want to fill in the blanks, just scroll through my last 15,000 or so tweets. That will pretty much catch you up.

There are a few things from 2015 worth mentioning: chatting with NPR’s All Things Considered about TCM’s summer film noir series; being the first outlet to report on TV Land’s cancellation of The Dukes of Hazzard reruns in the wake of Confederate flag controversy (and breaking what became a national news story); talking with The International Business Times about The X-Files revival; getting a shout-out from CNN; contributing to a Los Angeles Times article about classic films that remain locked in studio vaults; and even getting quoted in the Wall Street Journal this week.

But my favorite moment of 2015 came on December 20, when I interviewed New York Post chief film critic Lou Lumenick on stage at the former Loews 175th Street Theater in New York City before a screening of MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET (1947). Talking about one of my favorite films in a genuine 1930s movie palace in front of an audience of hundreds of fellow fans was more fun than should be allowed.

The bad news: you couldn’t be there. The good news: somebody recorded it. It’s like a New Year’s Eve miracle!

My thanks to Lou Lumenick for inviting me, to the United Palace Theater for hosting us, and to you for reading, watching, retweeting, “liking” and generally supporting my Old Movie Weirdo efforts.

Happy new year! Here’s to another year spent (mostly) in the past.

About willmckinley

I'm a New York City-based writer, producer, and digital marketing consultant. I've been a guest on Turner Classic Movies (interviewed by Robert Osborne), NPR, Sirius Satellite Radio, and the official TCM podcast. I've written for Slate.com, Game Show Network, getTV, Sony Movies, and NYC weeklies like The Villager and Gay City News. I'm also a contributor to four film-and-TV-related books: "Monster Serial," "Bride of Monster Serial," "Taste the Blood of Monster Serial," and "Remembering Jonathan Frid."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Highlight of 2015

  1. popegrutch says:

    I was there. And it was even better in person.

  2. Great interview! So glad to see you posted it.

Leave a comment