I’m a Contributor to a Book Nominated for an Award!

RondoIf you know me, you know I enjoy writing about obscure old movies most people have never even heard of, let alone want to read about.

While this strategy has done nothing to reduce my high-interest credit card debt, it has allowed me to collaborate on some fun projects and make some IRL friends (always a plus, considering I don’t usually like people in real life).

One of the most fulfilling of these endeavors has been the Monster Serial anthologies of horror film criticism. Over the last few years I’ve contributed to all three published volumes in the series, which has given me the chance to check “Get Published in a Book” off my bucket list. It’s also provided me with an “author page” on Amazon, which is something I hope to expand on in coming years (and/or use to impress women on Tinder if I’m ever single again).

The Monster Serial books are brilliantly art directed and edited by Wallace MacBride, the mad genius who runs the Collinsport Historical Society blog and its hydra-headed social media offshoots. Over the three volumes, Monster Serial has featured more than 100 essays on scary movies from the silent era to the present day, written by some of the wittiest and most knowledgeable horror authorities around.

SerialAnd I’m proud to announce that the third and final(?) installment in the series, Taste the Blood of Monster Serial, has been nominated for a prestigious Rondo Hatton Classic Horror Award for Best Book.

Founded in 2002 and named for the unforgettable character actor who became a film icon, The Rondo is the only award dedicated to classic horror and the contemporary media that celebrates it. This year’s awards are dedicated to Christopher Lee, and recognize nominees in 27 categories, from “Best Movie” to “Monster Kid of the Year.” (You can peep the full list of nominees here.)

Best of all, the winners of the Rondo Awards are chosen entirely by fans. And that’s where you come in.

If you’re so inclined, you can cast your ballot for just the following two awards:

10. BOOK OF THE YEAR: Taste the Blood of Monster Serial
16. BEST WEBSITE OR BLOG: the Collinsport Historical Society

All you have to do is copy and paste the entries above and e-mail them to David Colton at taraco@aol.com by midnight, April 10, 2016 (but do it right now, because you’ve got a lot going on and a tendency to procrastinate).

HODSOne vote is allowed per person, and your e-mail must include your name in order to be counted (so if you’re on the run from collection agencies like a certain classic film blogger I know, I’ll totally understand if you have to opt out). They also promise they won’t spam you or sell your email address to foreign horror fans seeking spouses in the U.S. with extensive DVD collections and access to green cards.

If you’re interested in picking up a copy of Taste the Blood of Monster Serial, it’s available at Amazon for only $11.99(!) and includes a forward by Kathryn Leigh Scott, co-star of the film I wrote about: Dan Curtis’ HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS (1970). The book also includes the work of the following talented contributors:

To get you in the mood for voting, here’s a short bio of Rondo Hatton from the Svengoolie show on MeTV. It’s kind of depressing, but don’t let that stop you from voting. Thanks for reading, voting, and your continued support of my Old Movie Weirdo endeavors.

About willmckinley

I'm a New York City-based writer, video producer, print journalist, radio/podcast host, and social media influencer. I've been a guest on Turner Classic Movies (interviewed by Robert Osborne), NPR, Sirius Satellite Radio, and the official TCM podcast. My byline has appeared in Slate.com and more than 100 times in the pages of NYC alt weeklies like The Villager and Gay City News. I'm also a social media copywriter for Sony's getTV and a contributor to four film-and-TV-related books: "Monster Serial," "Bride of Monster Serial," "Taste the Blood of Monster Serial," and "Remembering Jonathan Frid."
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m a Contributor to a Book Nominated for an Award!

  1. Kathy says:

    I Voted!
    Best of Luck!

  2. Devore says:

    As a horror writer, I find this highly interesting. Good luck to you, my dear.

  3. lucie says:

    Awesome news! Will keep my fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

