Take a Look, I’m In a Book!

cover B3I’ve written a lot of things since I got my first professional credit at the ripe old age of 15, but I’ve never been published in a book. Now, thanks to Monster Serial: Morbid Love Letters to Horror Cinema, a new anthology of fright film reviews, I can cross one more thing off my bucket list.

Edited by Wallace McBride, Monster Serial is an anthology of writing about an eclectic collection of horror movies, from early Talkies like DRACULA (1931), THE INVISIBLE MAN (1933), and THE BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN (1935) through the present day (but mostly pre-2000, which will be good news for anybody who reads this blog). Contributors include McBride (a friend since he guested on my late, lamented podcast), Patrick McCray, David-Elijah Nahmod, Ansel Faraj, Jonathan M. Chaffin, Sara McBride, and “Herb Gillman” who writes (coincidentally?) about CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON (1954).

936full-the-tingler-posterI contribute a 2,000 word essay on William Castle’s THE TINGLER (1959) with Vincent Price, a film I’ve watched at least fifteen times, including six times in theaters with the legendary Percepto! electrified seat gimmick. Sadly, my butt has been buzzed only once, on my first viewing at New York City’s Film Forum sometime in the 1980s. I’ve been chasing that dragon ever since, from coast to coast (a midnight screening at the TCM Film Fest in 2011 remains a highlight of my life, even though I didn’t get a “shock.”)

Monster Serial also features an introduction by film historian Gregory William Mank, cover art by Chaffin, and some inventive layout by McBride (who also runs the award-winning Collinsport Historical Society blog, a must for fans of the 1960s Dark Shadows TV series). It’s available in good, olde fashioned print form and for the Kindle. And, if you buy me a plane ticket, I’ll come directly to your house and read it to you using a collection of funny character voices and period costumes.*

A second Monster Serial volume is planned for this spring, and I’ll be contributing to that as well, God willing and my blood pressure don’t rise.

Here’s a list of the films that are reviewed in Monster Serial:

199758_1020_ADRACULA (1931)
THE TESTAMENT OF DR. MABUSE (1933)
THE INVISIBLE MAN (1933)
MARK OF THE VAMPIRE (1935)
BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN (1935)
CAT PEOPLE (1942)
I WALKED WITH A ZOMBIE (1943)
CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON (1954)
CURSE OF THE DEMON (1957)
PLAN 9 FROM OUTER SPACE (1959)
THE TINGLER (1959)
CITY OF THE DEAD/HORROR HOTEL (1960)
PSYCHO (1960)
MASQUE OF THE RED DEATH (1964)
THE DEADLY BEES (1966)
THE NIGHT STALKER (1972)
TALES FROM THE CRYPT (1972)
FRANKENSTEIN: THE TRUE STORY (1973)
THE LEGEND OF HELL HOUSE (1973)
THE WICKER MAN (1973)
THEATRE OF BLOOD (1973)
THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW (1975)
TRILOGY OF TERROR (1975)
THE OMEN (1976)
HALLOWEEN (1978)
ALIEN (1979)
INFERNO (1980)
CREEPSHOW (1982)
SWAMP THING (1982)
LIFEFORCE (1985)
RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD (1985)
THE BLOB (1988)
THE LAIR OF THE WHITE WORM (1988)
PET SEMATARY (1989)
CANDYMAN (1992)
IN THE MOUTH OF MADNESS (1994)
HALLOWEEN: 20 YEARS LATER (1998)
HOUSE ON HAUNTED HILL (1999)
HALLOWEEN (2007)
INSIDIOUS (2010)
HANSEL AND GRETEL: WITCH HUNTERS (2013)

Poster-Art-bride-of-frankenstein-19761624-2560-2048
 *Offer limited to attractive women who are pre-approved by my girlfriend. Not valid in Alaska because it’s too cold there and I can’t stand the cold. It depresses me. 

About willmckinley

Will McKinley is a New York City-based writer, producer and classic film and TV obsessive. He’s been a guest on Turner Classic Movies (interviewed by host Robert Osborne), Sirius Satellite Radio and the official TCM podcast. Will has written for PBS and his byline has appeared more than 100 times in the pages of NYC alt weeklies like The Villager and Gay City News.
This entry was posted in Classic Film and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Take a Look, I’m In a Book!

  1. Aurora says:

    VERY cool! I’ll buy you a ticket to NY/NJ Bus. It’s a short walk from there. Can’t get over Mr. Gillman writing on the Gill Man. Congrats!

    Aurora

  2. Jennifer says:

    Congratulations! I’ll have to look for this one – I’m glad to see Val Lewton films included! (Tell your friend to let me know if he wants an essay on BEDLAM, one of my other favorite Lewton films.) :)

  3. Congratulations! What a fun book for your essay to be in! The Tingler is a great subject, too!

  4. kC says:

    That’s fantastic! It looks like a really interesting book.

  5. Congrats! Although I must say I am not at all surprised. I bet all kinds of editors will be pursuing you now, and rightly so.

  6. Pete says:

    Reblogged this on BMovieManiacs.com and commented:
    MONSTER SERIAL: Morbid Love Letter to Horror Cinema

  7. Congratulations – this book of essays sounds wonderful! I’m buying you a plane ticket right now — pack your bags!

Leave a Reply

