Screening Report: CLEOPATRA’s 50th Anniversary – Mummified on Arrival

cleopatra3Everything about Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s CLEOPATRA (1963) is outsized – except, apparently, the audiences at Wednesday’s nationwide 50th anniversary theatrical screenings.

I attended the 7 p.m. show of the digitally restored epic at the AMC Loews Lincoln Square 13 on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, one of the best-attended movie houses in the United States. Fearing a sell-out – I was shut out of two different theaters for anniversary screenings of LAWRENCE OF ARABIA (1962) last fall – I bought my tickets days in advance; I even showed up thirty minutes early to insure a good seat. But all of this advance planning was as unnecessary as the film’s bloated, four-hour running time.

Because there were eleven audience members present at the start of the screening, in an auditorium that seats 173.

By intermission the count had jumped to a whopping seventeen. How many of the latecomers were actually paying ticket holders and how many had wandered in after other screenings concluded? I couldn’t say. One of the charms of multiplexes with more auditoria than staff members is the ability to see multiple films for one price without fear of retribution (not that I ever do that myself, cough cough).

Assuming that everyone in attendance paid the usurious New York City ticket price of $14.50, CLEOPATRA grossed $246.50 at the AMC Loews Lincoln Square’s only primetime screening. The theater probably earned more on Milk Duds sales for the neighboring IRON MAN 3 screening (which was bass-bleeding through the wall like an unseen Roman thunderstorm).

Annex - Burton, Richard (Cleopatra)_01For the record, I have no particular agenda when it comes to CLEOPATRA. I’ve seen it twice, once at the first TCM Classic Film Festival in Hollywood (with co-star Martin Landau in attendance) and again in 2010 at the Film Society of Lincoln Center (both in 70mm, and both with enthusiastic, capacity crowds). While the film is visually stunning, I also find it, as film critic Carrie Rickey once said, “soporific.” (Google it.) In general, CLEOPATRA is a confounding mishmash of Shakespearean tragedy and daytime drama, with Elizabeth Taylor demonstrating why her casting on General Hospital two decades later was so apropos. It’s a mess, but it’s a beautiful mess.

Still, I was stunned by the sparse attendance. So stunned, in fact, that I walked out at intermission, hailed a cab at Broadway and 67th Street, and raced down to the Regal Union Square Stadium 14 to check out the crowd at their 7 p.m. show.

I will grant you that this is not the way a normal person goes to see a movie. But CLEOPATRA is not just any movie. This is one of the most infamous pictures of all time, a film that took more than two years to shoot at a then-unheard-of cost of nearly $60 million – the equivalent of approximately $440 million today. It launched one of the most famous love affairs in Hollywood history and nearly bankrupted a major studio. And half a century later, that same studio – 20th Century Fox – has just spent more than nine months on a meticulous digital restoration of the 248-minute “roadshow” edition of the film (including overture and entr’acte music), rescanned from the original 65mm negative at 2K resolution. This newly polished crown jewel of Studio Era excess premiered with great fanfare at the Cannes Film Festival on Tuesday, with Elizabeth Taylor’s son Christopher Wilding and Richard Burton’s daughter Kate Burton in attendance, and Oscar-nominee Jessica Chastain bedecked in Taylor’s Bulgari diamond and sapphire necklace.

My point is, CLEOPATRA is what Joe Biden might call a big fucking deal. Flawed though it may be, it’s of major historic importance to any film fan. And half a century later, it still casts a long shadow. In November, Lifetime scored big buzz (and 3.5 million viewers) with an original movie about Taylor and Burton, much of which takes place during CLEOPATRA’s protracted shooting schedule. Are you telling me that only 17 New Yorkers who watched LIZ AND DICK were interested in seeing the source material in all its glory on the big screen? Nonsense.

hat“Maybe this is a Downtown thing,” I thought, as the cab sped south on Broadway like a valiant steed galloping toward battle (sorry, I got carried away there). “Maybe Union Square will get a bigger gay audience, for the camp factor.”

I’m not sure why I took this so personally. Perhaps because I’ve invested so much of my time and creative energies into classic movies, I take their success or failure (particularly in mainstream venues) to heart. When others don’t acknowledge these films with the same reverence I do, it can sometimes feel like a personal rebuke, even though I had absolutely nothing to do with CLEOPATRA or anyone remotely involved with its creation. But enough head shrinking. In the words of Agrippa (Andrew Kier), “Nothing bores me so much as an intellectual!” The point is, I was rooting for my Lower Manhattan neighbors to do me and my fellow classic film lovers proud. But first I would have to get in to the second venue, which was far more challenging than I had expected.

“What auditorium is CLEOPATRA playing in?” I asked the young ticket clerk at the Regal.

“Sir, that screening has already let out,” she replied.

“No it hasn’t,” I snapped. “It’s four hours long.”

“But you can’t go in,” she said. “It’s disturbing to other customers.”

“I’m just going to meet my girlfriend,” I lied. “I have to give her…her, um, her medication.”

I have no idea why I said medication, of all things. And the young woman seemed just as confused as I was. Clearly, my plan was failing worse than Mark Antony’s entreaties for an honorable death in the heat of battle, and the clerk wasn’t buying any of it. So I changed my strategy.

“Okay,” I said. “I’m going to see STAR TREK.”

“Sir, if your ticket says STAR TREK you have to see STAR TREK,” she scolded. “You can’t go into another theater.”

“Oh, I won’t,” I lied, again.

She looked like she might call the manager on me, so I jumped on the escalator to the third floor where STAR TREK was playing. Once there, I ducked into the restroom, pulled on the hoodie that was stuffed in my backpack, and sprinted down the staircase, back to the second floor. That way, if the intrepid ticket taker had reported me to security, their efforts to find a bald guy in a polo shirt would be thwarted by my deft disguise!

I quietly snuck into auditorium seven, hoping for the best. But my heart sank as I looked up at the tiny crowd, which was even smaller than it was uptown. There were maybe 14 people in an auditorium that seated around 150.

liz_dickAnd the worst part of this? The restored CLEOPATRA looked stunning on the big screen (actually, both big screens). I’ve attended a number of technically imprecise, nationwide screenings of “restored” classic films, co-sponsored by TCM and and Fathom Events and distributed via satellite: CASABLANCA (twice), SINGIN’ IN THE RAIN, THE BIRDS, FRANKENSTEIN, and THE BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN. All of these were well attended and, in a few instances, sold out far in advance. SINGIN’ IN THE RAIN was so well attended that the AMC Empire 25 In Times Square added a second auditorium for a weekday matinee, which also filled to capacity.

But with CLEOPATRA, two of the three primetime screenings in New York City attracted a grand total of 31 audience members. And unlike those Fathom screenings, CLEOPATRA was screened in professionally mastered, industry standard DCP, on a drive provided by the distributor. The colors were rich, the grain was visible, and, perhaps most importantly, the image didn’t pop off the screen like a video game. It looked like a film, a beautiful film for which D.P. Leon Shamroy won a Best Cinematography Oscar.

I wanted to get on Twitter, sound the social media trumpets, and summon all the classic film fans in America to their local theaters. I may not love CLEOPATRA, but I love the fact that a classic film is getting a national theatrical release in more more than 200 theaters. And I want that to happen again, but I want it to be done correctly.

Speaking of Twitter, a search after the screening suggested that the small audiences were not just limited to the shows I attended. @JordanLage tweeted that there were only seven attendees at the 1 p.m. show at Union Square, disproving my notion that matinee screenings might have drawn better due to the film’s epic length. @Cinephile82 attended the evening show at a Regal in Raleigh, North Carolina with only one other audience member. @TMDoyle2 reported that there were three people in her theater in Washington, D.C. @Journeys_Film told me that there were a “handful” of people at her screening in Sacramento. And @Violasmoustache tweeted, “Went to see Cleopatra. Intermission. I’m the only one here.”

While it may sound cool to have a movie theater all to yourself, the real point of seeing a classic on the big screen (at least for me) is sharing the experience with others who respect and appreciate these movies like I do. If I’m going to watch it alone, I may as well do it at home in my pajamas. Or my toga.

After the movie I Facebook chatted with Joseph Walsh, editor of the Nitrate Stock blog, my favorite resource for classic film screenings in the Big Apple.

“I’m usually on top of this stuff. The fact that I couldn’t find any info about it says a lot,” Walsh said. “Why re-release if you’re not gonna tell anyone?”

lizWhy, indeed. In a market saturated with ads for mega-budget blockbusters, how can a one-day only screening of a classic compete? More to the point, how can it compete without any discernable advertising? CLEOPATRA was highlighted on dedicated pages on the Regal and AMC websites, but you had to know it was happening to find those pages. The Plano, Texas-based CineMark chain, the third largest in the U.S., is sponsoring a CLEOPATRA Sweepstakes to promote the presentation, which will also screen on Sunday, May 26 at 2 p.m. local time (hopefully, to larger crowds). But, as far as I can tell, none of the theaters presenting the 50th anniversary screening of CLEOPATRA had even a single poster to herald the event. I only found out about it thanks to a column by New York Post movie critic Lou Lumenick, the great god of classic film here in New York.

So why did CASABLANCA, SINGIN’ IN THE RAIN and other recent retro releases draw so well, while CLEOPATRA was mummified on arrival? The difference appears to be TCM’s involvement (or lack thereof). For the Fathom Events screenings, announcements – we can’t call them ads, because TCM doesn’t air commercials – aired almost constantly on the network. Even events that TCM did not co-brand, like Fathom’s excellent LAWRENCE OF ARABIA screenings (also in DCP, not satellite), were mentioned extensively on air. I’m pretty sure the LAWRENCE screenings were highlighted in the TCM Classic Movie News interstitial segments that promote screenings, events, books, DVD and Blu-ray releases of interest to old movie buffs. I watch the channel daily, and saw no mention of CLEOPATRA.

It’s possible that Fox chose not to incur the cost of a paid placement on the Classic Movie News segment, if such an opportunity even existed. (The segment this month focused on the Warner Bros.’ 3-D epic THE GREAT GATSBY, which already has a giant advertising budget and is of far less interest to TCM viewers than CLEOPATRA.) Had they partnered with TCM in some form, attendance would have undoubtedly been far greater.

leftIn addition, if Fox didn’t want to incur the cost of traditional advertising or involve TCM, there are still routes to reach classic film fans. Fathom usually offers ticket giveaways to bloggers to promote their screenings via Pure Brand Communications. There are also numerous on-line communities of old movie buffs, such as the #TCMParty on Twitter, that can be discovered with some simple searching. With niche programming, it’s all about targeting and outreach. If you’re not going to be traditional, you have to at least be entrepreneurial. It appears that Fox (or whomever was tasked with handling/promoting this release) was neither. And their biggest failure was in ignoring the active and highly creative community of classic film fans on-line. We will work tirelessly to promote that which we love, but we can’t do it if we don’t know it exists.

Fox will release their Blu-ray on Tuesday, and I expect it will sell well. They’ll be able to chalk up any minor financial loss they may have incurred on these embarrassingly empty screenings as a promotional expense, and that will be that. But this was an opportunity missed. Reports of the theatrical failure of the 50th anniversary re-release of CLEOPATRA may make distributors of the next high-profile restoration skip theatrical distribution entirely, and it may also deter theater owners from experimenting with classics again.

And that’s too bad. Because while I don’t expect a four-hour-long melodrama from 50 years ago to outdraw IRON MAN 3 in IMAX, I do expect it to be better attended than a movie theater men’s room. Ironically, when I visited the gentleman’s lounge at the AMC Loews Lincoln Square I noticed framed photos of Humphrey Bogart, Gene Kelly, Sidney Poitier, Errol Flynn and other classic film stars hanging on the wall. Maybe they should have hung a poster next to those pictures that said, “If you know who any of these guys are, you might want to come see CLEOPATRA on Wednesday.”

“The ultimate desertion!” Mark Antony laments, as he plunges the dagger into his stomach. “I…from myself.”

At the 50th anniversary screenings of CLEOPATRA, the only deserters were the audience members – a cast of thousands who never heard their cue.

end

About willmckinley

Will McKinley is a New York City-based writer, producer and classic film and TV obsessive. He’s been a guest on Turner Classic Movies (interviewed by host Robert Osborne), Sirius Satellite Radio and the official TCM podcast. Will has written for PBS and his byline has appeared more than 100 times in the pages of NYC alt weeklies like The Villager and Gay City News.
This entry was posted in Classic Film, Screening Report, TCM and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Screening Report: CLEOPATRA’s 50th Anniversary – Mummified on Arrival

  1. le0pard13 says:

    Such an enjoyable read, Will. Who’d have thunk it given the film highlighted. The one with the wimpiest Mark Anthony ever on film, at least those I’ve seen ;-). Thanks for this.

    • willmckinley says:

      Thanks. I have to say, I’ve seen the movie three times now and I like it better each time. I particularly enjoy Rex Harrison and Roddy McDowell. I find them more interesting that Taylor and Burton.

  2. Muscato says:

    Well, beyond the evident (intentional or not) marketing fail, I’m afraid the problem might also be the picture’s own reputation: that it’s not fun, that it’s ponderous. The other titles you mention all read in the mind as experiences that would be great to share. Cleopatra, on the other hand, while it would certainly benefit from the big-screen scale, likely registers in a wider audience’s subconscious as “that flop” at best and “lumbering” at worst. It’s been years since I first saw it (via a poor-quality video) in full, but ever since, when I come across bits or scenes while channel surfing, I’m always struck with “hey, this is actually kind of neat…” But it’s not by any stretch a Singin’ in the Rain crowd-pleaser.

    • willmckinley says:

      Thanks for the comment. It’s definitely not a crowd pleaser in the same way that SINGIN’ IN THE RAIN or CASABLANCA are. It’s actually a surprisingly quiet film, which I noticed in both theaters, as the sound from the neighboring auditoriums seeped in. I always think of it as an action film with huge crowd sequences, but mostly it’s intimate scenes of people talking.

      I also agree that it suffers from the “flop” reputation, even though it was the highest grossing film of the year. But I think the film has marketing value even beyond the hardcore classic film fans. I’m surprised they didn’t promote the Elizabeth Taylor angle more. With her death, and the Lifetime film, I feel like they could have used “The film that made Elizabeth Taylor an icon” approach.

      I just ordered the Blu-ray, and I’m recommending that anyone who’s seen the film in lesser quality versions do the same. It really looks great.

  3. Danny says:

    Cleopatra is a beautiful movie, but it’s completely ungainly, too long, and held in nowhere near the same regard as Singin’, Lawrence, or, hell, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolf. If they want a classic screening to be a success, promotion as well as audience interest needs to be there. I see where you’re coming from, but let’s be honest: if Iron Man 3 was four hours long, it would probably have a hell of a smaller audience. And fifty years from now, no one would be in that theater either (not that they will be as it is anyway).

    I am intrigued in your exploits as Will McKinnley: Movie Theater Attendance Taker Spy. Would definitely love to read more of that. :)

    • willmckinley says:

      Thanks Danny. I don’t disagree about the “bloat factor” in this movie. God only knows how turgid the 6 hour version was.

      Obviously there’s one reason why they chose CLEOPATRA for a nationwide theatrical release: to promote the Blu-ray release. In that sense, maybe box office receipts are not really a consideration. Maybe their only concern is getting it out there so columnists and reporters will write about the Blu-ray. If this is the strategy, it doesn’t really make sense to me. If you can make money, why don’t you? And i think that they could have.

      Also: I Love “Will McKinley: Movie Theater Attendance Taker Spy.” If I ever start a radio show that should be the title.

  4. Jim Barg says:

    Fantastic post, Will.

    I actually was hoping to see it at Cinemark Tinseltown in Rochester, but apparently the HD didn’t arrive in time for the Wednesday shows due to the Midwest storms – apparently they shipped it late. So I got a free ticket, and plan on using it for Sunday’s show. (Plus I actually want to try to take notes for a review on my own blog.)

    I’ve taken out the DVD numerous times from the downtown library here, but haven’t been able to sit through it. I keep going back to the documentary and the other extras on that set, but the movie’s something else.

    Speaking of TCM, here’s hoping they and Warners get together for a Halloween screening of House of Wax (preferably on hard drives, like Cleo here). Would love to see it in 3D.

    • Jim Barg says:

      Also, here’s the Cinemark page detailing their Classic Series program. Looks like they’ve expanded it to be year-round now. (If you’ve mentioned it in a previous post, my apologies.)

      http://www.cinemark.com/cinemark-classic-series

    • willmckinley says:

      Jim please send me a link to your post after you go on Sunday. I’ll be interested in hearing how it goes.

      • Jim Barg says:

        Review/thoughts to be duly sent soon, but here’s the short version:

        25 people in the smallest theatre on site. Their big theatres are curved – saw 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea in one of them – but there’s a big difference between a mid-October screening and Memorial Day weekend. So it wasn’t as impressive as it could have been. Looked real pretty, though.

        Harrison and McDowall are the best actors in the piece. I would have happily sat through a three-hour Caesar and Cleopatra. Was disappointed that there were no extras – they ran Cinemark ads and then – BANG! – right into the overture.

      • willmckinley says:

        Jim – Thanks for the report. 25 is not a bad number! I wish it was higher, but it’s a lot better than a handful (or fewer). As for the film, you are right. I loved Rex Harrison and was so sad when Caesar got his. He’s great, as is Roddy, who elevates every script he performs.

        It seems to me that CineMark does a better job of promoting their classics than other chains. Glad to hear about a poster. Why the others didn’t do that I will never understand.

      • Jim Barg says:

        Will, I’ve posted a longer review on my blog. Thoughts and advice welcome. Thanks!

  5. Jerry O'Neil says:

    Will, I enjoyed your take on the paucity of marketing, and your viewing exploits were hilarious, from getting the meds to your girlfriend to having your hoodie on hand in a pinch. Wonderfully written piece. You had me all the way. Much more so, alas, than Cleopatra. Beautifully rendered but bloated and ultimately boring film.

    • willmckinley says:

      Thanks for reading and for the comment Jerry. Maggie posted a link to this on Facebook with the following caption: “Further proof that my boyfriend is out of his fucking mind.” Nice, huh?

  6. Paula says:

    What a great read. I’m pretty impressed with your trade craft in getting into the second multiplex, Will. I agree the lack of promotion was a shame. I can only conclude that CLEOPATRA wasn’t a priority for Fox. If it was showing in my area, I sure couldn’t find the info.

  7. The first time I heard about the re-release of CLEOPATRA is when you tweeted about it the other day. If it showed in Charlotte there was nary a peep to be heard. :/

    • Jim Barg says:

      I was only aware of it in Rochester because I check Fandango every once in a while for the Classic Series/Rifftrax screenings they’ll have intermittently.

      For the Lawrence screenings, I saw ads as part of their pre-show and lobby program at Tinseltown. I’ve been there a few times in the last few weeks and not a thing.

      • Jim Barg says:

        (for Cleopatra, I mean)

      • willmckinley says:

        Thanks Jim. I wonder what percentage of the potential audience is pro-active like you (and me), scanning websites and theater listings for things that might interest us. I suspect a far greater percentage don’t take the time to do that, and expect that they will be made aware of worthwhile events. I still say that a poster in the lobby is the simplest, cheapest option. I’ll never understand why they don’t do that for these special, one night only screenings.

      • Jim Barg says:

        Well, Cinemark does have a poster in their lobby and I saw a brief bit for the screening this afternoon while getting coffee (look, it’s four hours long). Figures.

    • willmckinley says:

      So obviously I should be sending someone a bill.

  8. Vanessa says:

    I freaking LOVED reading this post (even though it saddened me beyond belief)! My local theatre screened Cleopatra too, but I couldn’t go see it because I was away on vacation. Otherwise, if I had been home, I would have attended with gusto!

    • willmckinley says:

      Thanks Vanessa. I know the Blu-ray is coming out on Tuesday, but I wonder two days before the long holiday weekend was the right time for this screening. People are often fixated on weekend plans in the days leading up to Memorial Day, and not likely to want to spend 4.5 hours at a movie theater on a Wednesday night. I’ll be interested to see how the CineMark screenings on Sunday go.

      Thanks again for your nice comment. Much appreciated.

  9. Joe Walsh says:

    Great read as usual, and thanks for highlighting the truly important takeaway from this; theaters may think twice before booking a restored classic next time. No matter how well SINGIN’ or LAWRENCE or MOCKINGBIRD performed, and they performed EXTREMELY well, all it takes is one money loser to slow or stop what was becoming a great trend. Hopefully this was a minor blip and we’ll see well-executed DCP’s in limited first run screenings for years to come. Plus, yeah you’re a sneaky bastard, ain’t ya?

    • willmckinley says:

      Joe, I forgot about TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. I think I missed that one because I was traveling for work. But yes, they all did well (except maybe THE BIRDS, which was far from sold out, at least at Union Square). I never thought I would yearn for the talents of Fathom Events, but they (along with TCM) certainly have a good promotional mechanism in place.

      Ironically, from an image quality standpoint, the two best screenings of this sort I attended were the two TCM did not co-sponsor: LAWRENCE and CLEOPATRA. I suspect that the hard costs of DCP distribution are substantially higher. But both films had/have recently undergone expensive restorations, and I’m glad that Sony (with LAWRENCE) and Fox (with CLEO) decided to foot the bill for the best quality projection.

  10. Kay Noske says:

    Well, Will, I wish to high heaven I’d heard about this in Rochester (not even sure it was screened here) I would have gone! Your well written and thorough report is perfectly accurate in all regards. And a few of us don’t have to google soporific. Nice pluralization of auditorium, too. It’s baffling why no one seems to be plugging these screenings–what the hey?!?
    Many thanks for this sound scolding to the PTB behind Cleo’s mystery tour!
    Hugs, Kay

    • willmckinley says:

      Thanks Kay. I had to Google “soporific,” so shame on me and my high school English teacher. Seriously, I hope you can go tomorrow. If you do, report back!

  11. I have to say I cannot stand this film. I find it a real grind to sit through… Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever seen the whole thing.

    However, after reading your excellent post, I am willing to give it a go if it comes to the city near us.

  12. Hey don’t complain, 14 people is actually a darn good turnout…the theater I went to only had 6 people ( the 3 belonging to my family included ). My sister and I hopped around different seats to see from which spot you could get the most stunningly clear view. ( They ALL were great. ) I think it was just a lack of advertising. I just stumbled upon an ad of the showing by chance…on TCM’s website of course. They would of had better sales had they spread the word around to bloggers to post the news. Very entertaining post nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

