Hello. This is me.

Am I pleasing to you?

About willmckinley

Will McKinley is a New York City-based writer, producer and classic film and TV obsessive. He’s been a guest on Turner Classic Movies (interviewed by host Robert Osborne), Sirius Satellite Radio and the official TCM podcast. Will has written for PBS and his byline has appeared more than 100 times in the pages of NYC alt weeklies like The Villager and Gay City News.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello. This is me.

  1. hawkswill says:

    Hi William, You made a reply to my Wagon Master 1950 article that I wrote for Kristina on Speakeasy. I have been following you every since. I wanted to tell you about a new book coming out in April that I am most excited about. It is called Three Bad Men: John Ford, John Wayne, Ward Bond and is writen by Scott Nollen. Scott. This is a one of its kind because it pays attention to Ward Bond as no other book has. He was very important to “:The Triumvirate:” both on and off the screen. He is finally given his due. Scott has three degrees and has published, I believe about 18 books. I was impressed when I Googled him and found the books he has written. He is partially disabled and now solely works on his writing. He used to work for NARA. Being quite a Ward fan myself and having spent more than two years researching him, Scott and I have communicated back and forth considerably. I think you would like him….hard not to, Also, he has some memorabilia of the three which as not been seen before……..especially letters from Ward to home which are most interesting showing the loving Son side. He has a Facebook page for Three Bad Men http://www.facebook.com/ThreeBadMenJohnFordJohnWayneWardBond?fref=ts where he answers comments and questions rapidly. The book is for early purchase and he will comment and autograph for individual purchasers. It will be shipped in April.

    Scott would be glad to write an article for your blog or answer questions for you if wanted. I sincerely hope you will publish this info as there are a lot of people out there who have wanted a thorough book about the special relationship shared by Pappy, Duke and Ward throughout the years. You can contact me at Hawkswill@yadtel.net. Hope you will find this as exciting as I have and will find a place in your blog to introduce it. Thanks and have a super day, KEITH

  2. hawkswill says:

    Info on Scott. He is willing to be interviewed by you on any of these subjects; Thanks, Keith
    I wrote this for my good buddy Peter who is buying some books from Scott Nollen, (Three Bad Men). He wanted to get my opinion of them as Scott just sounds a bit too good to be true. But, so far, everything I have checked out is hunky dory. He is checking out some of what is written below, and I am checking out the rest. Does Colin do the old Horror stuff? Oh, Scott’s next book….one of them is about Glenda Farrell, his favorite female star. The other is about a guy who sings like Neil Diamond……even Neil is amazed at the likeness…….AND the guy is black….named the Black Diamond, (real name is Theron, LOL). He has a FB page and answers right away.

    Thought you might want to do a short interview of him……..shoot, you could use a lot of this stuff, copy and paste and just change a few things, LOL! Sometimes I think LAZY!

    I wrote what I thought about Scott’s books on JWMB, (I got The Cinema of Sinatra and Jilly, Sinatra’s Right Hand man), and this is what he wrote back…..bet it just galled Ethan, LOL. Don’t know WHY that moderator is so jealous of me, but he most definitely is!
    Thank you so much, Keith. It is very gratifying to have a reader who actually knew the people I have written about. I appreciate all your kind words. I’m glad you mentioned “detail,” because that SHOULD be my middle name. I try to leave no stone unturned when I research a project. I was educated as a research historian, as well as a filmmaker, so I’ve been able to combine these areas in my writing work. I hope I’ve been able to infuse the same level of detail into THREE BAD MEN, as it covers the lives of Pappy, Duke and The Judge very thoroughly, along with a complete history of all of their films, together and separately, and a focus on their amazing and complicated relationships. Thanks again, and I look forward to getting the final proofs for THREE BAD MEN any day now. After I go through them with a fine-tooth comb, the book will be available soon after! Gotta go–burnin’ daylight! All the best—Scott
    The “burnin’ daylight” is right out of THE COWBOYS!

    Well, P……got the books today. Don’t forget, I knew the two people that the books were about. My GOD, did he ever catch the spirit of those folks. Oh, I found a couple of Errors in Jilly, LOL…..but they were small and inconsequential. There were some of the GUYS mentioned that I believe I have told you about. Anyway. The books are excellent. The quality of them are great. I bent the paperback every which of a way, and it stayed intact! I just scanned Frankie’s film book because it is indeed an EPIC. So, I am about halfway through Jilly’s. I have laughed myself silly. I don’t want to come to the end knowing how horrible it will be to a man that was, yes…..bad in a way, but so very good to so many people. He gave a lot of big entertainers their start……lot more than I knew, like PETER NERO!…
    Wow, THAT blew me away! Jilly only finished 5th or 6th grade!………..But he LOVED excellent piano players. If you don’t get one ofhe last few of these, I will have to copy you on what Frankie says about taking Jilly to see a Philarmonic Concert, oh, I could go on and on. It is incredible. But, I believe every word of it. because I knew Jilly in person, both as my neighbor, and as Frankie’s companion. As brilliant as he was is so many money making ways, he got words mixed up, and when he did, when you FINALLY figured out what he meant, it would take everything you could do to keep from busting out laughing.
    OH, Gibbons is mentioned living next to Jilly and Pat Henry on the other side…….Yep, Gibbons is mentioned in the book. Also, the restaurant I said we met so much at, Jack London’s is in there, although Jilly’s kids were younger and didn’t know it belonged to someone else, so they said Dominick’s was where Frankie and all went………….that was the same place, Only not in the 60s……..Dominick didn’t get his name on it until about 73!+
    Going to try to read some more, but I did some outside PHYSICAL work and am quite bushed………….may fall asleep, LOL.
    Did you decide on any. Here is something Scott sent me for the website and the Winterset folks.
    Keith,

    I can send you a DVD of a panel I moderated at a major film convention in Washington, DC, in 1999. It was called “Heirs of Horror Royalty,” and I hosted the program with the children of Boris Karloff, Bela Lugosi and Vincent Price; the grandson of Lon Chaney Jr. (great-grandson of Lon Chaney, Sr.); and the niece of Carl Laemmle, the founder of Universal. It is a great program, because I know very well all of these people! I will try to make it this week (soon) and send it off to you!

    Scott
    The materials I have that belonged to WARD BOND are: 1) a binder filled with original handwritten letters from Ward to his family, 1929-1933, some mentioning Ford and Wayne, and one that includes drops of his SWEAT all over the pages; 2) an original still from SALUTE (1929); and 3) a pair of jeans that he wore in one of his 1930s films.

    I also have a large collection of items that belonged to SINATRA and JILLY!
    Keith,

    There really isn’t much correspondence with Brian: He joined my page and then suggested the info that I sent to you. He did NOT ask for free books–I was referring to that subject in general–I have given away too many books over the years, and I only have ONE copy of some of my books, which is why I can’t give anything away.

    My track record speaks for itself. I have given dozens of lectures at the National Archives, and spoken at various Sherlock Holmes societies, at the Robert Louis Stevenson Museum in St. Helena, California, and at the “Gillette to Brett” International Sherlock Holmes Conference in Indianapolis in 2007. The McFarland website and Amazon provide a lot of information. You may use the biography of me that is on imdb.com–it is pretty up to date.

    To get a look at the quality of my scholarship and writing, the Conan Doyle book is as good as any–judged the “ultimate treatise on the subject” by the Sherlock Holmes Society of London!’

    My book on Paul Robeson has been called a “masterpiece” by a political activist in London, etc., etc.

    The president of my publishing company said that my work is unique, and that I have “carved my own niche.” That’s why they have published so much of my work.

    Yes, that is Ward’s first wife.

    Some pics will follow soon!

    Scott

    Peter is DYING to see that Heirs of Horror Royalty, LOL! He is one of those spooky fans.

Leave a Reply

